The 11 Best Foods I’m Not Eating. (And Why.)

You can find more details and recipes on the Men’s Health Web site, which published the original version of the list last year. On 30 June 2008 Tara Parker Pope published and article regarding the 11 best foods that aren’t making it into our shopping carts as suggested by Nutritionist and author Jonny Bowden . You can find the original blog post on the NY Times blog site. What follows is the reasons I’m not eating foods on this list.

Beets: Think of beets as red spinach, Dr. Bowden said…
How to eat: Fresh, raw and grated to make a salad.

I have yet to find a way that I can stand to eat beets (with the possible exception of the occassional bowl of borscht) Though they may have similar nutritional value as spinach they simply are not as good as the leafy green Popeye fuel.

Cabbage: How to eat: Asian-style slaw or as a crunchy topping on burgers and sandwiches.

Okay cabbage does occassionally find it’s way into my shopping cart. You really can’t make a decent stir-fry without it. Also, though I despise coleslaw, a southern bbq sandwich with a fresh coleslaw is a tasty thing to behold. (Ironically enough the best southern BBQ sandwich I ever had was at Fat Alley in Telluride, CO if you find yourself in this amazing wonderland check ’em out.)

Swiss chard: A leafy green vegetable packed with carotenoids that protect aging eyes.
How to eat it: Chop and saute in olive oil.

I could never figure out why I don’t like this vegetable then I realized that it is in the beet family and everything became clear to me.

Cinnamon: May help control blood sugar and cholesterol.

I don’t know why people are using this by the 50lb bag. You want a real treat put a dash of this in your next batch of taco meat! In fact to your ground beef add cinnamon, golden (or regular) raisins, diced onions, and toasted almonds along with your normal taco meat seasonings and then drop a comment on this blog thanking me for opening your eyes to ever loving deliciousness!

Pomegranate juice: Appears to lower blood pressure and loaded with antioxidants.
How to eat: Just drink it.

Sorry as much as I want to jump on the pomegranate band wagon I never seem to get both feet in the cart. I do admit though that Pomegranates are great in salads, sauces, and the like it’s just not the first thing I reach for when I’m thinking of a tasty menu item. Apparently it should be!

Dried plums: Okay, so they are really prunes…

Yeah, they are really prunes and prunes are for old people and I’m too young to be old!!! I use to get strange looks when I worked at a Residential Treatment Center and had to keep a good stock of prune juice on hand. You get the strangest looks putting three or four half-gallon bottles of prune juice in your shopping cart!

Pumpkin seeds
How to eat: Roasted as a snack, or sprinkled on salad.

Who’s not eating these? Call me so I can slap you. Okay, seriously I don’t eat these as much as I think I should but they are tasty pretty much in anything. Pumpkin seeds may be the bacon of the seed world.

Sardines: Dr. Bowden calls them “health food in a can.”

Try S**t on a shingle in a tin box! How to eat: Don’t! In defense of sardines though really should ANY fish be sealed in a can for later consumption? No.

Turmeric: The “superstar of spices,”

The poor man’s saffron. Mother nature’s yellow food dye #5! I actually never seem to have this when I want it. It’s quite tasty if you don’t over season. No seriously a little goes a long way. Trust me.

Frozen blueberries:

Can you say four children under the age of six! Sorry I’d love to consume more of these but the juice doesn’t wash out well. If your single though this is a good place to pour your pomegranate juice. Blueberry Pomegranate Viniagrette…mmm…yummy!

Canned pumpkin

I generally only eat pumpkin twice a year…yep… Thanksgiving and Christmas.

So there you go I’m healthier than most. Now if someone could drop an email to my wife and let her know.

~ by Mel's Boy on Thursday, 15 January 2009.

One Response to “The 11 Best Foods I’m Not Eating. (And Why.)”

  1. I guess this would be foe to “Hell’s Kitchen,” but of course I’m “sure” BYU doesn’t roll like that;)

Leave a Reply

 
