April Paper Chef Entry

Well, Finally.

I found the paper chef competition by accident just after the new year and immediately knew that it was something that I wanted to participate in. Then February came and I couldn’t find the time to birth something edible from liver (although amazingly enough I did come up with an idea for a liver sausage that I thought would be tasty.) March blew in and I went and bought the ingredients and then got busy and didn’t get my idea created. So finally I have put together my entry and I am excited to share it.

For those who don’t know, this month’s ingredients – randomnly selected (3) and personally selected (1) by Adrienne at the Hungry Bruno Blog were:

  • blackberries
  • bulgar
  • artichokes
  • salmon

I was excited about two of the ingredients right away the artichokes and blackberries. Even though I went through a culinary program and have been in the industry 14 years this month. I had never broken down a fresh artichoke and had recently bought one so I could teach myself how it’s done. Second the blackberries. We’ve been trying to eat healthier in our home due to an obscenely high cholesterol number at my last doctor’s visit. When it came time to plan menus many of my favorite sauces were firmly dismissed and I was devestated. Then at work I started making chutneys for various VIP menus. Now I’m excited because I can get big bold flavors with far less fat than the beurre blancs I learned to love in culinary school. (Which admitedly was my first sauce idea for this month’s challenge.)

The Salmon and Bulgar didn’t excite me though. Never been a big lover of fish, although I’ve been looking at it more and more. Plus living landlocked in the West I don’t see much call for fish. Salmon is a big seller here but since the price skyrocketed last in February we have seen much less of it ordered. Other than that Crab and Shrimp are big sellers but we obviously don’t get that fresh without great expense. Blugar has never excited me. In fact most small grains don’t – bulgur, cous cous, etc. – but I know that grains of all sorts are key to a balanced vegetarian meal so I pulled out my New Recipes from Moosewood Restaurant &  The New Laurel’s Kitchen cookbooks to see how they handle the little buggers and then I went to the market.

Then I was ready to create. Without Further ado I submit my April entry into the Paper Chef:

Artichoke Stuffed Salmon
with Blackberry Chutney and Maple Butter served with White Bean and Bulgur Gallettespaperchefapril

  • 2 pints blackberries
  • 1 leek, white part only sliced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup maple sugar
  • 1/4 cup white balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp White Wine
  • 3/4 cup bulgur, cooked
  • 3 cup white beans, cooked
  • 6 Tbsp olive oil
  • 6 tsp salt
  • 3 tsp black pepper
  • 6 tbsp cooked diced bacon
  • 6 tbsp cayenne pepper
  • 8 Tbsp artichoke hearts
  • 4 tbsp fresh bread crumbs
  • 1 tsp Dijon Mustard
  • 1 Tbsp low fat cream cheese
  • 3 tbsp Butter
  • 3 tbsp maple sugar
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 1/2 lbs Salmon

Combine blackberries, leeks, garlic, first measure of maple sugar (brown sugar may be substituted here), white balsamic, and white wine in a small sauce pot and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and cook until all of the liquid has been cooked off. Keep warm.

Puree cooked beans and bulgur together in a food processor with olive oil, first measure of salt and pepper, and cayenne. remove from processor and fold in bacon pieces. Form into 9 patties either by hand or using a mold. Patties should be approxiamately 2 1/2 inches in diameter and 3/4 inches thick. Reserve.Set aside.

Combine artichoke hearts, bread crumbs, second measure of salt and pepper, dijon, and cream cheese in food processor and blitz until combined.

Combine Butter and maple sugar until well mixed. (maple syrup maybe substituted use half the measure)

Remove the belly meat from the salmon. Butterfly the salmon filet and place between to pieces of wax paper or plastic wrap. Gently pound until flesh is an even thickness all around. Season to taste with Salt and pepper then spread artichoke mixture over two thirds of the salmon and then roll jelly-roll style. Season the out side of the salmon roll with salt and pepper. Cut salmon into 3 equal portions.

Sear the salmon lightly in a hot pan (that does not have a meltable handle) coated lightly with olive oil on one side. When a good sear has been accomplished turn salmon to opposite side and place pan in a preheated oven. Finish Salmon in a 350 degree oven cooking to desired doneness. Remove carefully

While salmon is cooking heat some olive oil in a pan over medium heat and cook gallettes for about 2 minutes or until brown on bottom. Turn cakes gently and cook for 1 minute on the other side or until golden brown.

Assembly – place three of the cakes in the center of a plate. Set a salmon portion on top of this and place 1 tbsp of maple butter and three ounces of chutney on top of salmon. Melt the remaining three tablespoons of butter and drizzle around each plate.

Yield 3 Servings

~ by Mel's Boy on Sunday, 5 April 2009.

2 Responses to “April Paper Chef Entry”

  1. So the patties are white beans, bulgar, artichokes, etc? It’s not entirely clear that you mix the two purees (?) together, but I’m pretty sure that’s what you’re saying. Sounds tasty! I really like those kinds of patties. And the blackberry chutney sounds great, too. Yum! Glad you entered!

  2. Actually the patties are just bulgar, white beans, and bacon. The artichoke mixture is in the Salmon. Sometimes I get a “ghost” in my posts and sentences get in the wrong spots. Thanks for noticing I’ve made the adjustment so it makes more since. Give it a try and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

 
