Heart, Might, Mind, and Strength

Recently my wife and I had a fabulous little dinner at our own kitchen table.  This meal was meant to be our very first Fireside Dinner in the Fyresyde Kitchen but as fate would have it noone showed.  One family had sick children and since we have a little premie in our home trying to make it through his first year without serious illness they opted to stay home.  The other family tried to make it but I neglected to give them quality directions to our home and so the first fireside dinner that I hosted was attended by my good wife and myself.

My only regrets in how things turned out arise from the fact that I had intended on this dinner doubling as a Feeding America Dine In and having the opportunity to remind a few folks about the number of children who live at risk of hunger in our country.  I quite often see causes for the hungry in third world countries, for the persecuted and forgotten around the world and these are all good causes but I hope that we do not forget that there is still work to be done at home too. 

The menu this night was a simple one and was rather tasty.  (IMHO) I served a maple smoked pork steak with Sage Beurre Blanc and wild rice tamales.  I’m still trying to perfect my tamales and these could have been moister for my tastes but the steak was super yummy and since there were a number of no shows I dined happily on the leftovers for many days after.

Of course, the most edifying point of the week and the evening was the topic of conversation.  The theme for this dinner was “Heart, Might, Mind, and Strength”.  This is taken from the LDS book of scripture the Doctrine and Covenants Section 4 verse 2

Therefore, O ye that embark in the aservice of God, see that ye bserve him with all your heart, might, mind and strength, that ye may stand cblameless before God at the last day.

We talk just a little bit about each one of these.  Three of the four points seemed quite straightforward.  Serving with your heart has to do with your attitude towards the service and your love of those you serve.  Serving with your mind could refer to always thinking of your Father in Heaven and his children and finding ways to serve.  Filling you mind with righetous knowledge and not filth and nonsense.  We all have a measure of physical strength which allows us to do things like help neighbors move in and out of their homes, shovel snow, mow yards, and deliver meals to the needy. 

But the hang up became might.  It was suggested the might was physical power.  But this seemed redundant since the scripture mentions strength just a few words after.  I began to scan through the scriptures trying to find out what was meant by the word might.  A couple of times might appeared with the word power and so I knew that with might the scriptures were not talking about physical strength.

Finally after some more research I came up with the idea that might is referring to our capacity or potential.  This works quite well if you change the scripture to read: “see that ye bserve him with all your heart, [potential], mind and strength.”  This idea was reinforced for me later when preparing a Sunday school lesson on the plan of salvation and came across this quote: 

Throughout your premortal life, you developed your identity and increased your spiritual capabilities.

 “Your spiritual capabilities” or your might.  I think my wife and I came away from the meal physically and spiritually full and I look  forward to our next fireside dinner and hope that we have more people in attendance this time.

In His Name

~ by Mel's Boy on Monday, 25 May 2009.

2 Responses to “Heart, Might, Mind, and Strength”

  1. I think that heart, might, mind, and strength are referring to Leviticus 1:12-13 where it talks about the different parts of the burnt offering:
    head = mind
    fat = might
    innards = heart
    legs = strength
    So just as they offered the whole ram as a burnt offering, we have to offer our whole selves.

  2. Yeah Mike, that’s a great interpretation. It makes me think of a talk I heard once in church and the speaker asked the question, “what have you left on the altar of the temple.” Referencing the sacrifices that we have to make – the “offerings” to the Lord of our lives. So yes, I accept that as a great way to look at the “heart, might, mind, and strength” quote. I think it is very compatiable even with what I had thought in regards to using our full capacity to the glory of God. Only here I would change that to offering our love (heart), potential/capacity (might), knowledge/talents (mind), and our full effort (strength) to serving in the kingdom. Thanks for your input.

Leave a Reply

 
