It Ain’t Easy Being Green

I’m definitely starting to feel Kermit the frog’s life long pain.  It ain’t easy being green.  The more I concern myself with greening my life the more frustrated I become.  There is a reason that statistically so few Americans have made “major” changes in their homes to green their lifestyles.

Today in Los Angeles, New York, and San Francisco the film “Food, Inc.” will open with more openings in the coming weeks nation wide.  That will show some of the reasons for these slow changes.   But let’s face facts one of the biggest reason is money.  Fat is cheap and in today’s economy cheap is good.  Isn’t it?

I have a hard time paying more for organic produce, Whole grain breads, and free range chicken when my monthly paycheck is barely covering the bills every month.  Proponents of green living are always talking about how much less expensive it is to buy organic because it doesn’t travel as far and it isn’t laced with harmful chemicals, therefore, cutting down on fuel costs and health care expenditures.  But guess what?  It costs me the same amount in fuel to drive to my local grocery store to buy non-organic as it does to buy organic and the non-organic removes less money from my bank account.  Also even though I have insurance through my job I can’t afford health care.  Despite the myth that having insurance makes it possible for more people to get health care if your paycheck isn’t making it to the end of the month paying for food, clothing, and shelter that extra $20 co-pay or $40 prescription is not affordable.

Who knows in the word’s of Kermit maybe someday “When green is all there is to be/It could make you wonder why, but why wonder why/Wonder, I am green and it’ll do fine, it’s beautiful/And I think it’s what I want to be”  but right now I’m trying to eat healthier on the same money or less and organic doesn’t always fit the budget.

~ by Mel's Boy on Friday, 12 June 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
